Dog Days of Summer

It’s so hot that my dog isn’t even that keen on getting outside. Yes indeed, summer is here in full force!

Some people thrive in the heat and humidity. For me, I would rather run in these sweltering conditions than in the middle of January with the windchill of -20C. For others, this is their least favourite time of year to run.

The key to running well and consistently this time of year is to get out there in the early morning or evening when it’s cooler and the humidity is not so oppressive. Not anything you didn’t already know, but it is a good way to get into a new routine as the summer progresses. I’ve never been a morning runner, and I do struggle with getting out of bed and logging miles before the heat hits. But I have to say, there is nothing like running in the early morning when the city is quiet, traffic isn’t too busy, people are chilled out, and the air isn’t too heavy.

This is my fun season! I like to enter shorter races to keep me fresh and motivated, but they also allow me to push hard and recover quickly.

It’s also a great time to try out trail races. They provide you with a new type of running experience, engage your stabilizing muscles as you traverse hilly terrain and uneven surfaces, and it’s a whole it’s a whole new way to get outside. The shade of the trees keeps you a bit cooler and the vibe is perfectly summer – hot, steamy, laid back and fun.

Summer still not your favourite time to be out there doing long runs? How about some cross training? Swimming or biking will keep you fit as well and a lot cooler.

The moral of the story: enjoy these hot steamy days, they won’t be around forever. This season, with all it’s challenges, gives you an excuse to try something new and who knows: you might even get fitter over the next 8 weeks.

This entry was posted in A Message from Cory Freedman and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment